I was talking to a friend the other day, and they made an interesting comment - at least interesting to me. They commented on my ability to live frugally while not working, and to have the resolve not to spend money on luxury or vanity items when I did not need them. We chatted about it for a minute or so and they said that it would not be something they could do. I don't know if that's true or not, but I know it's not the first time I've heard it about myself.
This is, easily, the longest I've been without work since before 1st grade... And contrary to popular belief, I'm not enjoying it. A few other times in my life, I've been out of work for a month or two. I think the longest was 6 months. This little setback has now gone multiples of a larger unit of measure. And, while nothing about this being "between engagements" is very similar to the previous ones, at least with those, I actually had the hope of finding a job, or the idea that I could fall back on something lesser if necessary. But thanks to 8 years of the chimpanzee-in-chief and his sidekick Darth Vader, I, and most other unemployed folks, have no hope of anything. It doesn't look like any good news is going to come down the pike for another couple units of measure, and even then, it probably won't be for me. Oh, what's that you say? The Stimulus package? Yeah, that'll be great for me. Since I don't have an income, I don't file taxes, therefore I don't get any tax breaks or whatever else is supposed to lift me up by my bootstraps. Plus, and I may have said this before, I'm OLD!!! Ain't no jobs for the elderly except sweeping up at Chez Ronald. But I'm getting off the point. (Yes, smartass, these things do have a point.)
Frugality - or the ability to say I want that, BUT, I can't afford it. Now I don't know why this concept seems so strange to people my age. They, like me, were raised by people who lived through and survived the Depression (Mark I). Maybe it's that my folks never forgot the experience as times got better for them in the 50's and 60's. I was brought up to never throw away something while it still had a breath of use in it. And to never spend money on something without a huge amount of soul-searching as to whether it was something you really needed. And for the most part, I've followed that tradition my whole life. I know, those that know me are saying, "Uhm, you have HOW many guitars (records, cds, comic books etc. etc.)???" Yeah, I didn't say that I'd lived a life of austerity. But, in times of restricted cash flow, all that changes.
I've always managed, in times like these, to immediately go into "Depression Mode". No, not that kind of depression. That's not a mode for me, it's a way of life. Depression Mode for me is a simple one. I do not spend money. No matter how much I have in reserve, I do not spend money on anything that's not absolutely necessary. Regardless of sales (and believe me, there are some great bargains right now for those who can afford them) and regardless of how much I might want something. I just do not spend the money. I buy food. I pay my utilities bills. I put gas in the car (which, since I don't go anyhwere for the most part, means it lasts a long time). I do not go to movies. I do not eat out at McDonald's or order in from Domino's more than once or twice a month. I don't go to hear bands or go to the bar. In short, I become even more of a hermit monk than normal. This might offend some folks and I don't mean to. I'm not shirking spending time with you, but if it in anyway involves the use of green paper, I'm probably out.
Am I special for this "ability" to live frugally? Nah, I don't think so. Thousands of people who have it much worse off than I do, do this kind of thing everyday of their lives, economy notwithstanding. So I don't know how I could be special by doing what they are forced to do by circumstances. I don't know. If things keep going like they are, maybe even those who find what I do "special" or "weird" will be coming to me for lessons on how to live more frugally. No big lesson involved really. While this may be the only thing I ever agree with her on, the secret is, just as Nancy Reagan said - just say no...
Thursday, February 12, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment